Not just another Sunday…

As I am cycling around the busy streets of Amsterdam, I encounter a lot of obstacles….Tourist, cars, trams oh my! I totally forgot that the European Athletic Championships are held in the city center. Living only 15 minutes away from church “which is in the city center” I was already navigating in my head how to arrive there. I decided to make my way to church a sightseeing trip. Passing the Vondelpark “a famous park in Amsterdam” seeing the runners trying to finish the race, made me think about the book of Corinthians where it is written;

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. – 1 Corinthians 9:24ESV

As I was thinking about that scripture, something else came to mind. My husband is an Athlete and runs these races many times. We are talking about the 42k marathons, these are the hardest. I always wondered what is so excited about running? So I asked him and he said to me; when he prepares for a marathon he is very focused, he finds inner peace by reading the word and praying before he starts. The most important thing of all is, he knows that he cannot do it alone, he needs the help of God to finish the race. He told me obstacles will come his way and when he gets tired and want to give up he will remember this scripture;Isaiah 40:31NIV  and be energized again.

but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:31NIV.

Busy museum square

I reflected on what he had said to me and thought today about how these scriptures applies to me. I involve Jesus in my daily life and on Sunday that extra spirit vibe is on when I go to church. I understand now it is all about being focused and preparing before going to the house of the Lord or any other place as matter affect. It is not about me, but about who I represent. Am I going to be available whenever he needs me? Can he use me on the spot?

You never know who may need you as you walk in the city, having a coffee at your favorite place or are studying in the library. Be open and say “Yes Lord, I am available” and let him use you for his glory.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

