About Music

Tropical vibes……

“I was born with music inside me. Music was one of my parts. Like my ribs, my kidneys, my liver, my heart. Like my blood. It was a force already within me when I arrived on the scene. It was a necessity for me – like food or water.”

Ray Charles

Ray Charles could not have said it better. My mother have told me that I would move around in her womb on the sound of music. Coming from a grandfather who was a dancer, a home were music was our daily bread and my father who would start moving on the beat of the sounds of pots and pans, it was not strange that later in life I would be a music – dance lover.

Growing up partly in Suriname and the Netherlands, music was an adventures full of new and different sounds. From loving the Caribbean sound and flow to loving classical, dance and rap music, each of these music sounds have influenced my life.

It all started with the Caribbean tunes. From Kaseko, Salsa, to Zouk…. I grew up to love other types of genres like dance classic and rock.

Caribbean tunes are a major part of my life. I cannot live without it. An example is the song  below by Jean- Phillippe Marthely. How can you sit still? I sure cannot 🙂 Come on! grab somebody by the hand and start dancing.

 

The Classics….

I’m not trying to be new school and I’m not old school – I’m classic. There’s a lot of new cars and there’s a lot of old cars, but I’m just classic in doing what I do.

LL Cool J

LL Cool J. when I start talking about a person like that all my girlfriends know what I am talking about. Little did I know what he was singing about…I was 13 – 14 “a pup” so young and naive. Finding my way in life and in the sound of music. It is good to explore in the boundaries of what is good in the Lords eyes. It all takes me back to the days in music school. Such a baby in music. Attending music school was never a big deal to me, other than my pupils who did piano, jazz ballet etc. My talent was to sing. I did not really appreciate it until I started to sing (in my previous) church. It was a small Catholic Church with the sound of hymns and the old classical songs were the norm. You might say… boring! Yes, I said that too when I started singing there. Later on I start to love it. It all got to do with your mentality. I was the youngest in the choir and felt like Whoopi Goldberg in the movie “Sister Act” 🙂  as I (sometimes) spiced up the tune. I still get the chills when I listen people sing these classical music like Hallelujah, Gloria in Excelsis Deo etc. It really does not matter how you worship the lord, it could be through classical music, through country, soul or even through rap! Just sing your longs out and worship him!

I will sing of your love and justice; to you, LORD, I will sing praise. Psalm 101:1 NIV

 

The passion never fades away…..

Where words fail, music speaks”  

Hans Christian Andersen

In ups and downs and in good and bad days. I do not think that there is a person on earth that does not like music. I think music is a very important aspect in life even the bible said so. The book of songs – Psalms is one of the most amazing song- poetic books I have ever seen. Through that book I can read the days of pain and the days of  joy of King David and the other writers. I can relate, sing, praise and worship the Lord for the days that are given. True life stories are rooted in songs even though I doubt that some of the songs of today have anything to do with the life of an artist… I do not mind because it is creativity. Yet I am being careful what I am listening too. I do not only listen to the beat and groove on the vibes, but I also read the lyrics! If you like music and want to hear positive & encouraging songs; visit the website of KLOVE Radio. Be sure to listen to the song below video clip by Natalie Grant and feel her passion for Christ through this song.

Leave a Reply

