Sisters Retreat

OooooH what a weekend it was, hot weather, wine, chats, laughter… let me start from the beginning.

It is Friday! WoWoW..but it is not just another Friday, it is the sisters retreat weekend!

I am packing my bags, rushing on my dinner, I am basically doing everything at the same time (such a woman thing ) 😛 ready steady go. Whatsapping my friend on the way to my car I suddenly remember that I have to pass the gas station and the car wash. These are the days I miss my husband, I never look at the car that is his job 🙂 . A little bit irritated about my own laziness I finish off everything, went to my friend to pick her up and we rolled off to Kampen.

Kampen 6

 

Kampen is a city North East of the Netherlands. It is a very historical  place, but to be honest I would never have visit the place if I did not have a friend living there. The city has city rights since 1236. As a result of its convenient location on the busy trade route between the Zuiderzee and the Rhine, Kampen quickly developed from simple settlements into a prosperous trading town, to become one of the most powerful and leading cities of northwestern Europe a.
After kampen 5.jpgan hour and 15 min singing and praising the lord we arrived in this medieval city. We enter the city by passing the city gates. Trying not to hit a goat or cow along the way, we drove 30 km (18 miles) per hour (which was the speed limit). My friend immediately took her camera to take pictures, the funny thing was that we were the attraction over there, someone even took a picture of us. 😛

Finally we reached the house of our friend and sister in Christ who thought that we got lost on the way and was whatsapping us. She was so welcoming and gave us the big tour of the house. The evening was long with laughter’s, prayers and lots of food.

“….and there was evening, and there was morning–the first day” Genesis 1:5 NIV

It is bright light. What time is it? I looked at my phone and saw it was still early. I got excited because it was a new day and we had a few lovely things planned. After an extremely long breakfast it was time to go on a tour through the city center. Strolling around the historical streets on a sunny day, we enter this big church.

It was beautiful insidekampen 2.jpg as you may have read in my previous blog “I love classical music” hearing the classical sounds in a building like that was magnificent. One of friends who is a bible collector “seriously the girl has bibles from over the world” saw a bookshelf with bibles in different languages for free. She got all excited and started to look into which languages she did not have. I looked at her and I thought why in the world would she collect all of these bibles? It suddenly hits me, everywhere that I travel I take my bible with me. My bibles are in Dutch/English/Spanish but what if I am in a country where they do not speak these languages? I could use one of these bibles to talk about Jesus in their own language. Well talk is maybe too enthusiastic, well I am no whiz kid 😉 but you know what I mean. Just like her I wanted to be prepared whenever and wherever the Lord want to use me.

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. “ Matthew 28:19-20 NIV

It is amazing how the lord can reveal things just by strolling through the streets.

Kampen 1kampen 3.jpg

Following the historical narrow roads and entering a few shops it was time to finish the day of in the swimming pool with a glass of wine. We shared what the lord has done in our lives while enjoying some delicious refreshments.  As I looked at these beautiful women I thought to myself,  I am so blessed to have them in my life. Not only do they speak life into me, they nurture the precious time we have together. That is how it should be. No drama, no hate, love one another and empower each other.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on LOVE, which binds them all together in perfect UNITY. Colossians 3:12-14

Sisters.png

Source a: http://www.rederijhavana.nl/dagje-kampen/

 

 

Leave a Reply

