The Seven Colors To One Promise

I am sitting behind my desk and I am looking outside. It is rainy, muggy, yet another Summer day. I thought the dark clouds was so July, but no it had to continue through August. I know August just started but it felt so depressing to go to work like that or even think about my BBQ less weekends, do not get me wrong, there were some good days, but you know what I mean. The times flies and all of the sudden I see the sun shining and guess what, a rainbow! Hallelujah. It made me immediately think about the story of Noah and God’s promise. I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Genesis 9:13

 

Wow! that made my day. As I was Looking at the rainbow and was thanking God, I notice that I am such a complainer sometimes. Who cares about the rainy Summer days. Look at the beauty that the Lord has made and even better look at the rainbow. The rainbow is so special to me. When I was child I truly believed that it would take me to the world of the care bears 🙂  no joke.

The rainbow is caused by the light from the sun being broken up by water droplets in the atmosphere. The sun’s light is “white”, but the water droplets break it up into seven different colors, always in this order: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet. Just perfect! I interpreted as the seven promises of God to me because seven is a significant number in the bible. At  that moment my focus was changed to positive thinking on what is good and about the seven promises the Lord has made to all of us. Of course the Lord promises are numerous, but to stick with the number seven I will name a few.

Grace –  For from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace. John 1:16 Every day we receive grace from him, can you count how much grace he has given you? We have sinned and yet his love for us is bigger than our mess for it is written; But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions–it is by grace you have been saved. Ephesians 2:4-5

Victory – Whoever has ears, let them hear what the Spirit says to the churches. The one who is victorious will not be hurt at all by the second death. Revelation 2:11 By Jesus being resurrected the Lord has assured our resurrection. We can overcome this world through our faith in him. That is why we are victorious. It is never by our own deeds that brought us this far, but his amazing love for us.

Faithfulness–  Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. Hebrew 10:23 How many times have the lord been faithful to you? Through good and the bad times. The Lord has always been there or I might say, still is. There is nobody on earth who you can fully put your trust in than in him. We human beings have a  deceitful heart above all things and beyond cure. Jeremiah 17:9 . That is just how it is. Spouses, relatives, friends and even the government, etc.  Can let you down, but not the one who has created you. He will never let you down.

Forgiveness – Praise the LORD, my soul, and forget not all his benefits; who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases,….Psalm 103:2-3 Amen! many benefits follows if you decided to follow Jesus. It does not mean that everything will be all perfect and you will not endure, It will be Christ in you. Baptism is a start of your new life in Christ and the forgiveness of sins. You will not live for yourself any longer but for Christ.

Provides- So if you faithfully obey the commands I am giving you today–to love the LORD your God and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul- then I will send rain on your land in its season, both autumn and spring rains, so that you may gather in your grain, new wine and olive oil. Deuteronomy 11:14 He has promised to supply every need we have. Now notice, God has obligated Himself only to the extent of our needs. That would include food, clothing, shelter, companionship, love, and salvation through Jesus Christ. It would not include the multiplicity of luxuries that we have come to think of as needs.

Purpose – For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose. Philippians 2:13 You will know if the desire that you have is for God or not. If Christ lives in us, then we have the Spirit of the living God living in us. We learn how to live from our heart, not from our  head. We have a new heart and we can trust our new heart to guide us in all that we do.

Deliverance – Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. Romans 4:20-21 It may be difficult for us to see and understand how this is accomplished at times, but God has promised it, and He will deliver.

Love.

Farida

 

2 thoughts on “The Seven Colors To One Promise

Leave a Reply

