He came to serve….

It all starts with the heart ….

I turn around and look at my environment and think by myself I am so blessed. God has truly blessed me with my husband, food, a roof above my head, a shower, a job, you name it! All of this makes me want to do so much more for others. I do this with a group of church members.

street-teams

 

Street Team Amsterdam

 

 

I am involved in the Social Justice Team. Every other Saturday I am helping elderly and disabled people in Amsterdam. In the beginning when we started they we’re afraid to open up the door and I don’t blame them with all this violence these days. Now they are eagerly waiting for us  to come and want to talk to us.

 

 

 

 

 

There are many ways to serve the Lord.  As it is mentioned in the bible, that by serving others we serve God.

For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me,  I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me. Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink?  And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’  And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’ Matthew 25: 36-40

These verses shows us again that it is not by our works that we will go to heaven, as matter of fact by reading this you can see that some of us don’t even know that the good things that we do is for  the Father. Just by making yourself available for your neighbor is a start. Even as I writing this these verses reveals even more deeper meanings to me but I will leave it up to you to discover what the Lord has to say to you.

God has brought my husband back to me and we both have been praying to Gsicilieod to show us what our next step should be. We had a lot of plans which had to make room for the plan of God. The lord showed us during our trip in Sicily that our mission is our marriage at this moment. We are married one year but it doesn’t feel like it because we only had seen each other a few times and were 9000 km apart. We are going to serve each other in a way the Lord wants it. That does not mean that the plans that we have are automatically dismissed on the contrary they are on the shelf to be used in a later season of our life together.

 

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9    and so it is!

 

One thought on “He came to serve….

Leave a Reply

