Sabbatical Journey

This is our story, our journey, our testimony…..

Dear readers,

It is long since I have written on my blog. The reason for this is that I have been overwhelmed by God’s grace and mercy. God is at work in me every day but it feels like I have been experiencing him even closer than before. Again I have written this posted on my way to my new destination “Hong Kong”. This time no vacation but for the vision that God has given my husband and me. Let me start from the beginning.

The past couple of weeks a lot things have been happening. God has been doing incredible things for us. The whole month of November I was really focus on the things that matter, like my family, friends and the most important thing my relationship with God. God has shown me why my attention should be on him first. As he is sending my husband and I on this new adventure. I see more and more how he makes us work in a team. Areas where improvement is needed is something that we will work on during our trip.

A few months ago the lord has put mission work into my heart and my husband and I were  looking forward to go to Costa Rica. “Hey  I was even practicing my Spanish”. So full of energy to do Gods work,  but during our trip in Sicily the Lord showed us that we cannot do his work while we have not built the right foundations together. The house should be strong before doing his work in ministry. In our case we are married a year and every couple mature in their own way but for us it was not that time yet. When doing mission work all kind of obstacles and challenges can come your way and you will get attacked by the evil one for it  is written ;

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places  Ephesians 6:12  KJV

This means that our first  mission is our marriage. I can tell you that it is already hard enough! Being married is no joke. From the moment I said “I do” the challenges has started. A year ago people were asking me “do you feel any different now you are married?” and my answer was ‘NO’, but now I can say that it is different. I can now reflect on our first year of marriage not only being apart for at least 9 months! But also experiencing communication problems while before we were married it all was just fine. Many Many obstacles and challenges we have faced in our first year of marriage, but after the 9 months of being separated (hubby in the US and me in the Netherlands) it is like the marriage is born again, you know like a baby is born. It was all preparation, I know you might say “preparation in your first year of marriage?” yes it is exactly like the vision I got last year while I was hiking in the mountains in Phoenix, AZ. In that vision I saw challenges and obstacles, but God spoke to me and said that no matter what happens, I need to hold on to him. It was a preparation for something much bigger, that is our marriage!

Holding on to him is the only way in life we can move forward, it will work by trust, obedience and being patient.

img_8191

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 NIV

 God wants us to focus on our unity and our relationship with him. So since my husband has been with me in the Netherlands we prayed and asked the Lord to show us what next step to take. We asked the Lord to let us go around the world using our talents for his glory and by being his ambassador along the way. All of this in obedience. This is how we end up going to Asia! I know?!! Totally different way than Latin America. So we are on our way to the promise land. We are traveling until we are there. It is no goodbye to the Netherlands but just farewell. I can say I am ready for this new season and this sabbatical journey with God.

God Bless.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Follow my journey: Instagram: oil_tree_of_joy / twitter: @oiltreeofjoy86

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

